It is finally happening. The dream of many past and present individuals is coming to fruition. The Indiana High School Swimming and Diving Hall of Fame is about to be unveiled.


Over the past year, members of the ICGSA, IHSSCA, officials, former coaches, and past athletes have been compiling information from over 90 seasons of swimming and diving to establish the first class of inductees. That event will occur April 15, 2007.


The committee assembling this information has established the following Mission Statement:


The Indiana High School Swimming and Diving Hall of Fame is established to honor those athletes, coaches and special contributors who have contributed to High School swimming and diving in the State of Indiana. It will be a means of recognizing, preserving and promoting swimming and diving in the State. It honors the contributions and accomplishments of all of these individuals who are worthy of recognition as examples for others to emulate.


The general selection criteria is as follows:

·        The student athlete must have participated in high school to eligible for the Hall of Fame.

·        Nominees must exemplify high standards of sportsmanship, ethical conduct and moral character.

·        All candidates will be judged on their significant and/or long term contributions to interscholastic athletics. While many have served their local programs over along and distinguished career, their accomplishments must have been worthy of Statewide recognition for them to be considered.

·        Longevity, without meaningful state wide impact, does not constitute appropriate credentials for Hall of Fame consideration.


Inductees will be divided into 3 categories:

1.      Athletes

  1. Coaches

3. Special Contributors (such as media, officials etc.)


There will also be two special selection awards:


James E. “Doc” Counsilman Award

This award was established to honor Doc’s many contributions to the world of swimming. The Counsilman Award recognizes life time achievement, and should be considered the highest honor bestowed upon the recipient, as chosen by the Indiana Swimming and Diving Hall of Fame Committee.


Doc Counsilman is considered to have been not only the greatest swim coach of all time, but also the greatest coach of any sport ever. He will be remembered as a scientific genius and a master psychologist. He was the first person to tie scientific research into the coaching profession, and he backed up scientific theories with practical application. His many innovations impacted the sport in such a way that he changed the course of history.


Hobie Billingsley Award

Hobie’s many contributions to the sport of diving have been recognized at the state, national, and international levels. He began his career as a physical education teacher and high school swimming and diving coach, served as diving coach at Ohio University and Indiana University, and went on to produce 115 National U.S. Diving Champions. Although Hobie was a master teacher of national and international athletes, he remained true to the developmental aspect of the sport by conducting world renowned diving camps for student athletes of all ages. Hobie’s contributions to the sport of diving are innumerable, and this award was established to recognize and honor his accomplishments.



A permanent award plaque will be on display at the I.U.P.U.I. Natatorium in Indianapolis, and individual inductees will receive a commemorative award.


With the April 15, 2007, induction ceremony looming, the committee is calling on you for assistance. Nominations for Special Contributors, the Doc Counsilman and Hobie Billingsley awards are now being accepted for the 2007 class.


Nomination forms and additional information can be found on the coaches associations web sites: and


Questions and nominations may be directed to:


Linda Horn

Brownsburg High School

1000 S. Odell Street

Brownsburg, IN 46112

317  852-2258  Ext 1604

Email address: